Earth Revolution Around The Sun


Earth Revolution Around The Sun 

Earth’s axis is an imaginary line that makes an angle of 66½° with its orbital surface. The plane formed by the orbital is called the orbital plane. Earth receives light from the Sun. 

The size of the Earth is like a sphere, so only half of it receives sunlight at a time. The side facing the sun has day, while the other side which is away from the sun has night. The circle on the globe that divides day and night is called the circle of illumination. This circle does not meet with the axis. 

The Earth takes about 24 hours to complete one revolution on its axis. The period of rotation is called an Earth day. This is the daily motion of the earth. 


Rotation of earth around the Sun orbit 

The second motion of the earth which occurs in its orbit around the sun is called revolution/rotation. Generally a year is divided into summer, winter, spring and autumn. Changes in seasons are caused by changes in the position of the Earth around the Sun. 

Earth Revolution Around The Sun

North Solstice 

On June 21, the Northern Hemisphere is tilted towards the Sun. The sun’s rays fall directly on the Tropic of Cancer. As a result, more heat is received in these areas. Areas near the poles receive less heat because the sun’s rays fall obliquely there. The North Pole is tilted towards the Sun and there is a continuous day for about 6 months on the parts after the North Pole line. 

Since a large part of the Northern Hemisphere receives sunlight, the northern part of the equator has a summer season. June 21 has the longest day and shortest night in these regions. This state of the earth is called post solstice. 


South Solstice 

On December 22, due to the tilt of the South Pole towards the Sun, the rays of the Sun fell directly on the Tropic of Capricorn. Since the Sun’s rays fall vertically on the Tropic of Capricorn, a large part of the Southern Hemisphere receives light. 

Therefore, the Southern Hemisphere has summers with long days and short nights. The exact opposite is the case in the Northern Hemisphere. This state of the earth is called the southern solstice. Christmas is celebrated in Australia during the summer time. 



  • On March 21 and September 23, the sun’s rays fall directly on the equator. In this state, none of the poles are tilted towards the Sun, so night and day are equal on the whole earth. This is called the equinox. 
  • On September 23, autumn occurs in the Northern Hemisphere, while it is spring in the Southern Hemisphere. The opposite is true on March 21, when it is spring in the Northern Hemisphere and autumn in the Southern Hemisphere. 


Year Count 

The Earth revolves around the Sun in a year or 365 days. We consider a year to be 365 days and do not add 6 hours to it for convenience. In four years, the remaining 6 hours of each year together become equal to one day i.e. 24 hours. Additionally the day is added to the month of February. Thus, every fourth year February has 29 days instead of 28. A year in which there are 366 days is called a leap year.


Leave a Comment