Visible light spectrum wavelengths | Frequency visible light


What is Visible light 

Visible radiation is the electromagnetic waves received by the human eye. (Visible light spectrum wavelengths) The sensitivity of the human eye to electromagnetic radiation depends on the wavelength (frequency) of the radiation, with the maximum sensitivity being 555 nm to 540 THz in the green part of the spectrum. 

Since the sensitivity gradually drops to zero with distance from the maximum point, it is impossible to specify the exact range of the spectral range of visible radiation. Typically, the region of 380–400 nm (790–750 THz) is taken as the short-wavelength range, and 760–780 nm (up to 810 nm) (395–385 THz) as the long-wave range. is taken as. Electromagnetic radiation with such wavelengths is also called visible light, or simply light. 

Not all colors that can be recognized by the human eye correspond to any type of monochromatic radiation. Colors such as pink, beige or magenta are produced by mixing several monochromatic emissions of different wavelengths. 

Visible radiation also falls into the “optical window” – a region of the spectrum of electromagnetic radiation that is practically not absorbed by the Earth’s atmosphere. Clean air scatters blue light significantly more than longer wavelength light, so the afternoon sky appears blue. 

Many animal species are capable of seeing radiation that is invisible to the human eye, that is, outside the visual range. For example, bees and many other insects see ultraviolet light, which helps them find nectar on flowers. Plants pollinated by insects are in a more favorable position in terms of reproduction if they are bright in the ultraviolet spectrum. Birds are also able to see ultraviolet light (300–400 nm), and some species even have markings on their plumage to attract a mate, which are visible only in ultraviolet light. 



Electromagnetic waves that humans can see 

Visible light waves are the only electromagnetic waves that we can see. We see these waves as the colors of the rainbow. Each color has a different wavelength. 

In which red has the longest wavelength and violet has the shortest wavelength. And when all these waves are reflected together, they form white light. 


Frequency visible light 

The human eye can see colors at wavelengths ranging from about 400 nm (i.e. violet) to 700 nm (i.e. red). 

Frequency visible Light from 400 to 700 nanometers is called visible light or the visible spectrum because humans can see it, although light beyond this range can be visible to other organisms, but not visible to the human eye. is considered. 

Visible light spectrum wavelengths, Frequency visible light

Visible light spectrum wavelengths 

  1. Violet :- shortest wavelength, around 400-420 nanometers with highest frequency. They carry the most energy 
  2. Indigo :- 420 – 440 nm 
  3. Blue :- 440 – 490 nm 
  4. Green :- 490 – 570 nm 
  5. Yellow :- 570 – 585 nm 
  6. Orange :- 585 – 620 nm 
  7. Red :- longest wavelength, at around 620 – 780 nanometers with lowest frequency 

Violet light has the shortest wavelength, which means it has the highest frequency and energy. Red has the longest wavelength and, therefore, the shortest frequency and lowest energy. 


White light and visible colour spectrum 

The light we can see is mostly in the form of white light, which consists of many or almost all of these wavelength ranges. White light shining through a prism causes optical refraction to cause wavelengths to be slightly bent at angles. The resulting light is split into the visible color spectrum.


[Visible light spectrum wavelengths | Frequency visible light]


Leave a Comment